Emerging Designers To Watch

Now playing: “The Space Tapes” by Shura

 

Nothing gets me excited like discovering and learning about new, emerging designers. There’s so much under-the-radar talent out there that deserves a lot more attention, so I thought I’d share some of my favourite brands on The Clothing Lounge and make an edit of some of their best pieces.

 

KIMMY J

I’ve been loving Korean brands like ADER Error and Low Classic for a while now, and KIMMY J doesn’t disappoint. Mixing the sensibility of classic items with tough edginess, Kimmy J makes pieces that simply say “I’m brilliantly wearable, modern casual”.

MY PICK

I’m majorly lusting after this midi skirt; it’s super versatile – keep it tough in head-to-toe black and throw on your go-to leather jacket, or juxtapose with a sweet, floral blouse. Shoes-wise, I’d personally chuck on some black sporty trainers (as you may or may not know, I practically live in my Lacoste’s / New Balance’s), or team it with some clean, minimal heeled sandals for a workwear look.

ygcevu2d6a1bw7pcwmmesldygvaxxoqcovjkkjowxwc_oxskmtkfiisnz89wedze8_zqifhhun4fmsjvwngb4mu Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 14.06.52 2204101001_2_5_1

 

 

 

 

 

 

J CHUNG

I’m totally unapologetic about including another Korean brand in this edit. J CHUNG manages to combine a glorious symphony of soft femininity, elegance and sports luxe. I’d be happy to make their collection my capsule wardrobe, please & thank you.

MY PICKS

I had a really hard time picking just one of J Chung’s must-have pieces, so I’m going to go ahead and offer a small selection of my favourites. I love the finishing detail of the black ribbon across the front of this classic white shirt, as you can create a really pretty ruffled, peplum effect. It’d look awesome with some beige culottes and chunky earrings! I also love this gorgeous rust-hued maxi slip dress; it looks super silky, and really shows off J Chung’s eye for the perfect fit, as 1) it’s one-size-fits-all! 2) it’s a relaxed, but not quite boxy fit. This would look great either worn alone or layered over a long-sleeved roll neck.

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 14.23.54 Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 14.22.44

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ÁERON

Hungarian brand ÁERON has centred its latest collection around soft, muted tones of blush, taupe, and camel, which perfectly compliments its soft, understated and everyday design aesthetic.

MY PICKS

I can just picture how I’d style this soft blush ÁERON blazer – with matching cigarette trousers and kick-arse silver metallic trainers to totally throw everyone off at the last minute: at first glance, your look says “soft minimal”, but – oh snap! And then there’s this gorgeous suede-like bralet top, which would be a great piece for hot summer days. Alternatively, layer it under or over a sheer white blouse or over a plain white tee. Yes, as you can tell, I’m into layering. ÁERON even have a suedette skirt in the same shade you can co-ord with!

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 14.38.27

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 13.42.51

 

 

 

 

DOMANOFF

Ukranian brand DOMANOFF‘s main discipline is cutting edge shape and structure, basing their collections on cool-neutral tones.

MY PICK

Now, I know summer is coming but it’s never the wrong time to look for key seasonal pieces, such as this felted wool wrap coat. For me, grey is an all-rounder shade that that really works with everything – it’s not too harsh a tone, so you can be sure it won’t clash with anything. This would be the perfect wrap-up piece for winter.

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 13.38.35

 

Have you discovered any emerging designers recently? I’d love to know!

The Style Banks x

Leave a Reply

