My Internship With The Clothing Lounge

Now playing: “Karate” by Anne-Marie (so obsessed & in love with this song)

Hey all,

I’ve got a very exciting announcement to make! Last week, I was confirmed as a freelance writer intern for online boutique space The Clothing Lounge!

The past few months have been, to be honest, turbulent and rather testing. I’ve spent this year applying for more internships than I can count, with a “who knows?” attitude, sending out my CV and handfuls of cover letters left, right and centre.

From my ongoing experience, applying for internships is an incredibly relentless process; I honestly can’t tell you how often I’ve spent time on lengthy application processes for the company to not even acknowledge me. It’s disheartening, I know, especially when you apply for something at a company you love and would feel would be perfect for you.

The key is, unsurprisingly, to never give up, no matter how many times you fall down. There are endless (and when I say “endless”, I mean it) opportunities for internships out there, and if you want to get a foothold in the fashion industry (let’s assume), settling for even something small, something you don’t think will be that valuable or significant, may just be the starting point for something even better.

You see, having the tiniest bit of work experience, even at somewhere small and relatively unknown, will still be a good thing to put on your CV and a great talking point for future interviews – it’s still something. You can never have enough work experience, in my opinion, so go get it! Just don’t stop applying, and you’re bound to strike gold some point down the line.

I first saw The Clothing Lounge’s ad for an intern on the website Fashion Workie (which is great, btw), and I instantly knew it was something I wanted to be a part of.

The Clothing Lounge is an e-commerce space that promotes and supports emerging designers. Almost like an underrated Net-a-Porter!

The Clothing Lounge

Many people are on the hunt for boutiques that showcase up-and-coming, under the radar designers, and while there are online luxury boutiques like Net-A-Porter and Farfetch, the majority only really offer established, well-known, big-name designer brands.

That’s why I wanted to work for The Clothing Lounge – it’s different, unique, and I’m interested in discovering and writing about emerging designers.

As a freelance writer, my role is to essentially write text for their website: things like product and page descriptions; rewrite the brand communications amongst a few other things.

What’s cool is that, unlike many fashion-related internships, I don’t have to commute to London to do the internship; I get to work from home, so I can comfortably fit this is in with my uni schedule. Hooray for no travel costs!

So far, it’s going really well and I genuinely feel respected and valued by The Clothing Lounge team. Another 3 months to go!

Got any internship stories you wanna share? I’d love to know!

The Style Banks x


		
Leave a Reply

