New York Fashion Week

Now playing: “Everything is Embarrassing” by Sky Ferreira

 

With New York Fashion Week having just launched, it’s all about staying up to date with your favourite fashion events. I’d like to share how I personally stay up to date with all things NYFW:

Firstly, it’s all about following a wide range of Instagram accounts. I know that I’ll be spending the rest of the week waking up in the vague afternoon, refusing to remove myself from my bed until I’ve given my Instagram feed a thorough scrollin. Some of my favourite accounts that upload exciting sneak peaks straight from the runway include blogs such as Man Repeller and Kayture, fashion platforms like Vogue Runway and WWD, and magazines such as Dazed and i-D.

Whilst there aren’t any specific apps I use to stay connected to fashion events in my area (do you use or know of any?), I find that Eventbrite is an incredibly useful tool in locating upcoming events near you. If you’re ever creating a fashion event of your own, you can use their event management page to set it up too!

Although I have a very helpful uni tutor who’s always very in-the-know about all sorts of fashion shindigs happening nearby, it’s a good idea to follow gallery spaces of your liking, such as Somerset House and the V&A (big up, London). In addition, sign up to newsletters wherever you can to get alerts of upcoming events.

As I’ve emphasised before, staying connected is really just about following online influencers, those who inspire you and those you are genuinely interested in. I love how there’s no limit to who you can follow across different social media platforms – the more, the merrier!

Lastly, I’d like to share who I’d most want to see this New York Fashion Week! I’m looking forward to my usual American favourites, Public School, Opening Ceremony, and The Row (Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen are my ultimate style icons, so just watch this space for a little follow-up post about them 😉 ).

I’ll be interested to see Alexander Wang’s eponymous label showcase its latest, what with Wang having bid Balenciaga farewell last year in order to focus on his own brand.

I’m also curious to see how Kanye West’s Yeezy Season 3, held in Madison Square Garden last night, compares to his previous two, which have been fairly similar to one another. From the previews I’ve seen on a certain family’s Instagram, this collection has the fur (faux, I hope) and jewels reminiscent of the 1920’s. What tricks did Yeezy have up his sleeve this time?

Here’s Eventbrite’s list of fashion week events if you’re lucky enough to be in the NYC area!

How do you keep up to date with fashion events? And who are you looking forward to see at NYFW?

The Style Banks x

Leave a Reply

