Rave Review: Lipstick Queen Sinner Lipstick in “Rust”

I hope everyone’s had a fantastic Christmas spent with loved ones and filled with plenty of food, booze and presents! Just a quick, short blog post today that I’ve been meaning to publish for a while now, all about one of my favourite things (as any of my regular readers may know) – lipstick!

~

Now playing: “Heartburn” by Wafia

A number of weeks ago I had the opportunity to stumble across a Space:NK store on Kings Road in London (it was a bit like dying, and going to heaven), and, completely unintentionally, found this beauty – Lipstick Queen’s Sinner Lipstick in “Rust”.

This is my first Lipstick Queen lipstick – forever a MAC devotee (as you may well know), this was an almost begrudging purchase, as, at £22, Sinner lipstick was a real investment compared to the endless £15.50’s I’ve doled out for my beloved MAC lipsticks. However, it is a purchase I don’t regret in the slightest. Here’s why:

More muted than my MAC Chilli lipstick, this product is the true rust colour I’ve been looking for for ages (and the shade is literally called “Rust”…it was meant to be!)

What I love about this shade is that it’s so wearable – not quite bold, but not quite neutral, it sits right in the middle. It’s the perfect red-brown shade that’s a great option for someone who doesn’t want something bold and bright. Unlike MAC’s super-bold, super-pigmented Chilli, Rust, whilst still being highly-pigmented and matte, has the slightest sheer edge to it, gliding on perfectly and feeling great on the lips.

 

P1080782

P1080783

Left: Lipstick Queen Sinner Lipstick in Rust; Right: MAC Lipstick in Chilli
Left: Lipstick Queen Sinner Lipstick in Rust; Right: MAC Lipstick in Chilli

I’ve found that Sinner Lipstick also seems to have a creamier formula than the MAC matte lipsticks; I find the texture and wearability of it makes it a lot more fuss-free than the effort I have to put in to keep any of my MAC matte lipsticks flawless and neat on my lips.


IMG_6093
IMG_6094

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6098

IMG_6097

 

 

 

 

 

Overall, whilst the price of Lipstick Queen’s Sinner Lipstick may seem a little extortionate (although any lipstick addict may beg to differ), I do think it’s a worthwhile investment, particularly if you buy it as a one-off treat. The texture is

perfect and wear is comfortable, unlike some matte lipsticks I’ve tried, yet they’re still highly pigmented and come in 20 brilliant shades. Buy them here.

Do you have any Lipstick Queen products? What do you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

thestylebanks x

 

Leave a Reply

