Clinique Black Honey Beauty Gift Set Rave Review

Now playing: “Warm” by SG Lewis

I recently treated myself to Clinique’s Black Honey Beauty Gift Set, after spotting it at the Cosmetics Company Store in Bicester Village at a discount – where the set RRP’s at £25, I managed to get it for £17.50. Yay :)))

The set contains cult favourite Almost Lipstick in Black Honey, a Superbalm Moisturising Gloss, A Different Enamel, and a Quickliner For Eyes Intense, all in the same shade. What I love about the set is that the products can be swept across an eyelid / lip / nail for a sweet, satisfyingly harmonious yet low-key makeup look.

IMG_4900

IMG_4903

On a similar note, I’m now tempted to also purchase the Black Honey single eyeshadow from the same place, where it’s sold for £11 as opposed to the usual £16, despite having my suspicions that this shade is similar to Mac’s Antiqued eyeshadow, which I own as part of my Mac Burgundy Time Nine eyeshadow palette. I clearly want to make my face BE Black Honey.

The Quickliner is creamy and easy to use – although you can’t use it to draw precise, fine lines, I like to use it along my upper or lower lashline then smudge it in with my Mac 217 brush. Alternatively, I’ll literally apply the Quickliner all over my lids then blend for a quick wash of colour.

IMG_4907

I’m personally not a fan of lipgloss at all – far too girly and fussy for my style –  however I like to use just a swipe of the Black Honey Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss to keep my lips moisturised, blotting if need be; an additional perk is that the gloss not only moisturises your lips, it also gives your lips a healthy sheen.

IMG_4904

Clinique’s Almost Lipstick in Black Honey has achieved cult status amongst beauty fans, and I can see why. Black Honey is famed for being sworn universal on all skin tones; even those who are commitment-phobes of lipstick are guaranteed to love this gem.  The nourishing product glides on smoothly and effortlessly, leaving a sheer, just-eaten-berries / just-drank-a-glass-of-Merlot hue on the lips. What I like about the Almost Lipstick is that you can build up the intensity in layers (although, obviously, don’t expect to get any opaque colour from it).

IMG_4905

IMG_4908
From left to right: Quickliner For Eyes Intense in Black Honey; Almost Lipstick in Black Honey; Superbalm Moisturising Gloss in Black Honey

There isn’t a whole lot to say about the Black Honey nail enamel – it’s a gorgeous, mulled plummy wine colour, and what can I say, it just does the job. I haven’t had the opportunity to properly paint my nails with it yet, so I’ll update this post with a picture when I can 🙂

IMG_4906

 

Overall, I think Clinique’s Black Honey Beauty Gift Set is good quality, good value for money and a must-have to acquire an everyday, muted plum fuss-free look.

What beauty products have you been loving lately?

thestylebanks x

13 thoughts on “Clinique Black Honey Beauty Gift Set Rave Review

  1. Wow – love Clinique Black Honey everything! The Black Honey Almost Lipstick was one of the first makeup products I ever bought with cash from my first job! LOL! I’ve been a devotee ever since. Thanks for the great review! I will keep my eyes peeled for this gift set here in Canada.

    Like

    1. Hi Dominique!

      Yeah, I’ve heard Black Honey Almost Lipstick has been around for years and is one of Clinique’s bestsellers! And thank you for reading my review! I hope you do find the gift set where you are, like I said I think it’s a lot better value than just buying the Almost Lipstick by itself 🙂

      thestylebanks x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi there! Yes – everyone I know uses it! LOL! You are welcome – love great beauty reviews like this one. I will look for the gift set and report back. Our Clinique counters usually have great gift sets…I just haven’t seen this one. xo

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi there! I definitely recommend Black Honey Almost Lipstick, it’s become an everyday essential for me! And I’ve heard the Tom Ford Terra bronzing powder is good, I’ve curious to try out one of their products!

      thestylebanks x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ooh this looks beautiful!! i didn’t know clinique had these sets! 🙂
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

    Like

Leave a Reply

