Review x2: ModelCo Double-Ended Fibre Lash Mascara & Rimmel Undercover Eye Primer

Now playing: “Undertow” by Warpaint (this ugly Soundcloud banner is ruining my aesthetic) (that moment when you realise how pretentious you sound the second you mention ‘aesthetic’)

It’s that time again – when your mascara’s running low and you need to buy a new one; whilst I’m a loyal devotee to Benefit’s They’re Real! mascara, I made an impulse buy at Boots and bought ModelCo’s Double-Ended Fibre Lash Brush On Lashes (a name and a half) mascara.

Having previously purchased Too Faced’s Better Than False Lashes Extreme Mascara for a whopping £28 (I was in a vulnerable state, okay?), I was first raving about the whole mascara and fibre wand business, but then after a while I realised it didn’t live up to my £28 expectations – the fibres on the brush in the separate fibre tube weren’t packed enough to adhere sufficiently to my mascara-coated lashes, so while the final effect was sufficient, they weren’t as WOW and MASSIVE as I would’ve liked.

So, being over a tenner less than Better Than False Lashes Extreme, and packaged handily as a double-ended tube, I thought I’d give ModelCo’s version a go. And I’m not disappointed.

IMG_4761 IMG_4762 IMG_4763

The mascara coats lashes nicely, and is wet enough for the fibres to then adhere to them. The fibre wand is absolutely loaded with nylon fibres, so they were able to cling to my lashes really easily and build volume and length. TIP: I personally like to only brush the fibre wand from the middle to the very tips of my lashes, as that way I can really focus on building length without them getting all clumpy, spidery and uneven, hence keeping them nice and separated. But that’s just my preference!

After one coat of the fibres and two coats of the mascara to prime and seal the fibres, my lashes were looking pretty impressive. But, I personally like to repeat the process to make them even more amazing. Here is what my lashes look like when I’ve repeated the application process once:

Here, enjoy some awkward and uncomfortable shots of me
Here, enjoy some awkward and uncomfortable shots of me
It kind of looks like there's a green screen behind me, but it's not, it's just a gaudy green wall
It kind of looks like there’s a green screen behind me, but it’s not, it’s just a gaudy green wall

And just imagine if you repeated the process for a second time. IMPOSSIBLY MASSIVE LASHES.

Overall, I’m really happy with the results the ModelCo fibre mascara has given me – in fact, it is hands down one of the best mascaras I have ever used, and tops all of those luxury £20+ mascaras I’ve tried, making this pretty good value for money at £16.99! The only downside I’ve experienced with this mascara is that it can leave small flakes that fall out from your lashes (what’s that term all the beauty vloggers use? Fallout?) but they can be brushed away easily. I’d definitely say it’s worth investing in one of these if you don’t usually spend much on a mascara, you will not be disappointed!

Am I going to give this a rating? On the spectrum of mascaras, this one is up there, and I mean really up there. A solid 9/10.

—–

Meanwhile, I’d been meaning to find an eyeshadow primer to accompany my new Mac Burgundy Times Nine palette (aka the love of my life). The only one I was able to find in the Boots I went to was Rimmel London’s Undercover Shadow Primer, so I thought “Why not?” and picked it up.

IMG_4757
I’m really not sure this does anything, and from the reviews I’ve read online, others agree. The primer is a pearly white with shimmer, but dries clear when applied on the eyelids. After applying the primer with the doefoot applicator in the tube, I had to blend it in with my fingertips – fine. The primer felt kind of glossy and oily on my eyelids, and didn’t seem to enhance the colour of the eyeshadow I applied on top, which was part of the reason I bought this product for.

The whole point of a primer is that it’s essentially supposed to provide a good makeup base. This product does not do that. After a couple of hours of wear, my eyeshadow had creased but seemed to pretty much remain in tact. However, at the same time, I do doubt the staying power of my eyeshadow; Undercover Shadow Primer promises 18-hour wear, and whilst my eyeshadow lasts for a good day when I wear the primer (bearing in mind my day doesn’t really start until, like, 11), I have a feeling it’s very unlikely that it’ll last a whole 18 hours.

I would post a picture of me with and without the primer applied underneath my eyeshadow, but it really makes no difference.

All in all, this product is nothing special, totally not crease-proof and something I don’t recommend you waste your money on. Sorry, Rimmel! 3/10.

In other news, what do you think of the Game of Thrones Season 5 finale? After watching it, I feel like it’s only a matter of time before I’m killed during an episode.

thestylebanks x

Leave a Reply

