OOTD & New Products

Now playing: “Heavy Metal And Reflective” by Azealia Banks ūüíÖ

Hi everyone!

Today I was out and about, finally securing work in Bicester, and when in Bicester, how could you not go pop into Bicester Village? Besides, it was too lovely a day not to spend it strolling about the stores completely out of your price range. Still, a girl can dream, right?

IMG_4709
Awful at posing with enthusiasm

Top: ASOS White
Trousers: ASOS
Shoes and bag: Zara

I also made a supply run to Boots for an eyeshadow primer to accompany my new Mac Burgundy Times Nine eye palette (I’ve been staring at it longingly every day since I’ve owned it, it’s the most beautiful thing), a new mascara (you know that feeling of dread you get when your trusty mascara starts getting dry? My trusty Benefit They’re Real! mascara is on its last legs ūüė¶ ) and some heavy duty night cream.

Here are my new products I’d like to share with you! I’ll give a review of the Mac Burgundy Times Nine palette, and I’ll follow up with a review of my new mascara and eyeshadow primer next time ūüôā

IMG_4723

I’d been lusting over Mac’s Burgundy Times Nine eyeshadow palette for a while, so to finally get my hands on it is a dream come true. All four of Mac’s Eyes Times Nine palettes (Navy, Purple, Amber and Burgundy) are a well-edited selection of hues inspired by the given colour, and what I love about them is that they all offer endless combinations that work for both day and night. And for Mac, which typically can be pricey, I think ¬£30 for a 9-shade palette¬†is decent value for money.

There are so many things I love about it – it’s compact and handy for on-the-go use; I was naturally gravitated (and strongly attracted) towards the Burgundy Times Nine palette – all of the shades are absolutely stunning¬†and they really bring out the colour of your eyes.

Another thing I love about the palette is that there’s a good variety of finishes – I believe that the key to a great eyeshadow palette is a balance of shimmer and matte / satin shadows (to be honest, I can’t notice much of a difference between matte and satin in this palette). Burgundy Times Nine offers¬†two matte¬†shades –¬†Quarry (soft muted plum brown) and Embark, an intense reddish brown. Its two¬†satin¬†shades are Poppyseed (midtone mauvey nude) and Haux (soft muted rosey brown).

I personally love to dust Poppyseed or Quarry all over my lid as base for my look, using my Mac 217 brush (probably a must-have for anyone who wears eyeshadow) to apply and really blend it out. This leaves the rest of the palette – a selection of Lustre, Veluxe Pearl (whatever that means) and Velvet shades (essentially, these are all shimmery shadows with subtle differences); I love to apply Antique, a bronzey ash brown, in the V of my outer lid, then sweeping Embark and #Noir (a deep, velvety black brown with gold pearls) along my lower lash line. Finally, I’ll usually apply Honeylust (a gorgeous sparkling bronze-dipped peach Lustre) in the inner corner of my eye.

That’s just the first combination I’ve tried and tested, so like I said, I really think it’s worth the ¬£30 for all the countless combinations you can try. Now, one thing I’ll point out is that from the videos I’ve watched on Youtube, the palette seems to appear more purpley¬†and intense than I would like, however when I actually got the real thing, it was more muted and earth-toned, which I preferred. As I’ve found it difficult to get a good picture of Burgundy Times Nine that depicts the shades accurately, I’d say that its appearance on the Mac website¬†is a fairly true depiction of the actual product.

Overall, I can find no fault in Mac’s Burgundy Time Nine eyeshadow palette – for nine gorgeous high-quality, high-pigment eyeshadows of a good variety of shades and finishes at ¬£30, I’d say that I’ve definitely got my money’s worth and couldn’t be happier!

Do you have any of the Eyes Times Nine palettes / products I’ve bought recently? What are your thoughts?

Until next time,

thestylebanks x

Leave a Reply

