What I’ve Learned from my First Year at Uni

Now playing: Henry Green – Barcelona

Having moved out of my student accommodation last week, it’s since been all about recharging my batteries, adjusting to living at home again, and reflecting on my first year at university.

What can I say, it’s been an experience and a half. The past 8 brilliant months have flown by and I’ve met some great people and taken on a lot of new and exciting things. I’ve come away learning quite a bit, so how about some candid, somewhat questionable yet brutally honest insights from yours truly?

1. Alcohol. Alcohol will test your limits. If you choose to drink, you’ll probably gain some memorable (or not so memorable) drunken experiences. At least in the first year, one of the most important things about coming to uni is having fun (to clarify, I’m not advocating that you have to drink to have a good time)!

At some point during your first year, you may wake up after a night of heavy drinking and ask yourself the following existential questions:

1) Am I alive?
2) How am I still alive?
3) Who am I?

And then you come to the point where you realise how much you’ve spent on alcohol throughout the year. Oh well, you can always rely on a bottle of Glen’s Vodka – “The Exciting Vodka”.

“I’m never drinking again.” Yeah yeah, that’s what they all say.

2. On the other hand, don’t feel pressured into going out every night (unless it’s Freshers’ – DOWN IT FRESHAAAA)! Sometimes it’s nice to get some down time and have a night in. Plus, it gives your poor student loan a break from the expenses of a night out 🙂

3. As much as you try to be healthy, it probably ain’t gonna last long unless you try a bit harder. If you’re not living at home when you go to uni, it’s likely that your diet’s going to become pretty questionable. Still, you don’t have to eat pizzas every day, it’s easy to make cheap meals and they can also be healthy if you put your mind to it!

4. You’re probably going to get lazy. You’re bound to miss a couple of 9am lectures, but in your first couple of weeks, try to go to them all so at least you can suss out which are the most important. But if you can, try to go to them all! I’ve learned that it’s so easy to get complacent and assure yourself that you can still get work done without going to lectures, so remember that all the lectures, seminars and tutorials are there for a reason – after all, you’re paying for them!

5. Wash up stuff straight away – do it while you cook – it only takes 5 minutes or so! Otherwise, you end up getting into this rut where you just leave stuff in the sink and it builds up, making it such a hassle to deal with later on.

6. Get as many packs of cards as you can from Freshers’ Fair. Trust me on this one.

7. Seriously though, try not to get a Dominos or a Chinese too often – it’s tasty and feels so worth it at the time, but looking back on it later on, you probably could’ve done it without it (although FEEDME50 has epitomised my first year at uni).

8. Everyone else is in the same boat as you, so don’t worry about not being able to make friends! The student body (is that an exclusively American term?) is big enough that you will find some buddies. Don’t panic if you don’t click with your flatmates, you’re sure to make friends on your course and in your halls 🙂

I hope my tips put some nervous soon-to-be-student minds at rest 🙂 And as for me, bring on year 2!

thestylebanks x

One thought on “What I’ve Learned from my First Year at Uni

Leave a Reply

