My ASOS essentials edit

Now playing: ‘I Won’ by Future feat. Kanye West

My visit to Stockholm back in September has shaped my personal style. I adored the Swedes’ understated, minimalist style that says: “I am chic, I am effortless, and I’m perfectly apt for city life.” I had never seen such a distinctive style worn by so many of Stockholm’s citizens – fuss-free, visually-refreshing and laid-back, it was both inspiring and eye-opening. The Swedes have encapsulated their signature aesthetic by conceiving their own fashion brands, whether it be high-street or higher-end. H&M’s sister-brand, & Other Stories http://www.stories.com/gb/, is one of my favourite stores (although the pricing not so much), offering amazing one-of-a-kind pieces like no other high-street retailer, not to mention a super-cool beauty range, over which I have a mini existential crisis every time I see, fantasising over how I’d need nothing more in life than the whole collection. Plus, Swedish singer Lykke Li has designed a collection for them! And then there’s Weekday http://shop.weekday.com, the holy grail of clean-cut basics, as well as unique pieces with interesting textures and bold prints. Monki http://www.monki.com house their quirky and fun fashion pieces in imaginatively-decorated stores, which made me felt as though I was in an Alice In Wonderland dreamworld (or moderately tripping).

On the higher end of the scale comes Acne Studios http://www.acnestudios.com, who would be part of my dream wardrobe. Juxtaposing design and attention to detail, with an emphasis on tailoring and an eclectic use of materials and custom developed fabrics, this is a great, innovative brand, if you have the money.

I’d like to say that I could sum up my personal style as minimalist, often opting for navy, black, grey and white, yet take a look in my wardrobe and find that this is only 70% the case. Undeniably, colours and prints are eye-catching and a quick satisfaction for everyone, but there’s just something refreshing and different about a clean aesthetic. Dressing that way makes me feel at my best, and I feel the best place to start with developing your personal style is to build your own wardrobe of essential, basic pieces.

My rule for buying new pieces for my wardrobe? It should go with at least five pieces of clothing I already own. I’m constantly lusting over my Saved Items list on ASOS; they’re items that I picture would be the perfect foundations to building up a wardrobe that encapsulates my style:

Lacoste Showcourt RCT White Leather Croc Trainers, £65

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.05.50They’re SO BEAUTIFUL. I believe a good pair of investment trainers can go with pretty much anything, even if they are stark-white. These would look great with a pair of crepe trousers in particular. Look at the croc-texture and finely-crafted detail on these babies 😍 Perfect.

 

 

ASOS Crop Top with Curved Hem in White, £25

I think the shaping of this is sleek and chic, cutting in all the right places. I’ve felt the need for a bit more white in my wardrobe – remember, white isn’t just for spring and summer! It works all year round. Really, you don’t have to try hard as long as you pick the right piece that’s crisp, flattering, and works with your style.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.13.19Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.14.14Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 20.46.15

 

 

 

 

 

 

ASOS Long Sleeve Stripe Top in Navy/White , £16

A Breton jersey top is a chic staple. For some reason, I really like how the sleeves are long as opposed to shorter. Visually, it just looks good to me.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.16.12Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.16.56

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 21.00.48

 

 

 

 

 

 

Weekday Oversized V Neck Textured Jumper in Grey, £45

I love the soft texture and shade of this jumper. It looks super-comfy but at the same time the V-neck detracts from a frumpiness that we come across with a couple of jumpers, meaning you could reveal a seductive peak of flesh (God that sounds gross) whilst leaving more to the imagination and keeping warm.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.17.28Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.18.17

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 21.09.02

 

 

 

 

 

 

ASOS Cigarette Trousers in Crepe in Black, £28

Black is flattering, and I’ve been on the lookout for a pair of cigarette trousers as an alternative to black jeans. Sleek and slimming (if you find the right fit), pair with an oversized jumper and white shirt (it’s all about layering) or a cropped top and jacket, with nude ballet flats, your favourite pair of trainers, or heeled sandals for the office or whatever.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.19.19Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.20.04

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 21.15.27

 

 

 

 

 

 

ASOS Roll Neck Jumper in White, £22

Another classic white staple. As this isn’t too chunky, it’s just the right thickness to tuck into a mini leather skirt for example, or with a full midi skirt. This would look stunningly killer teamed with thigh-high boots (perhaps if your legs weren’t as short as mine).

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.20.52Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.21.20

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 21.20.58

 

 

 

 

 

 

Weekday Leather Top in Cream, £75

This is blowing the budget a bit, but this isn’t just any old tee. It’s a beautiful leather tee, clean-cut and understated. The leather adds a fierce statement edge to any outfit, but where one has to be cautious with leather to avoid an overkill or bondage look (unless that’s up your alley…then fair enough), it becomes more muted, sweet, crisp and unassuming.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.24.09Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.23.26Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.24.40

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cheap Monday Fleece High Neck Jumper in Grey, £35

Fleece reminds me of what I used to wear when I was 10 to keep me warm, getting static in my hair whenever I wore it. It also reminds me of IKEA blankets. But this is fleece reinvented. This makes fleece cool now. It’s slouchy, but the cut and edges of it veers it away from being another frumpy jumper. As it’s a soft grey, it can be played up with colour for a killer outfit, for instance with leather-esque trousers in burgundy (I love burgundy btw), or a PVC skirt.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.26.25

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 21.32.34Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 21.30.57

 

 

 

 

 

 

ASOS Jumper In Rib With Turtle Neck in Black, £22

Turtle necks ain’t just for Steve Jobs. Turtle necks add instant interest to a staple long sleeve. They just have a hip “Je ne said quoi” vibe to them. Whilst the black one is instantly calling for me (typical), the grey one’s pretty hot too.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.27.40Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.28.03

 

 

 

 

 

 

ASOS Skater Skirt in Ponte with Fluting in Black, £8 (£8!)

Okay, it’s not something I really need, but at £8, I’d be a fool to miss out on this staple. And besides, you can never have enough skirts (I could say that about anything really). An elegant, feminine cut, I like the curved seams round the side of the skirt. Again, I’d instantly pick black to slim down the bottom half of me, but grey could work too. Look at dat swish tho. Swishity swish swish.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.28.53Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 21.44.49Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 19.29.31

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So there are my ASOS essentials, wish me luck for affording them all! (I’m coming to terms that I can’t own them all at once. Tears.)

Izzie x

Leave a Reply

